Orchestre Métropolitain - Bluebeard’s Castle

Maison symphonique March 1, 2019

A new bride, a gloomy castle, seven doors. To bring in light, Judith—that is her name—has the doors opened one by one, revealing the secrets of Duke Bluebeard and discovering her own terrible fate. In Bartók’s opera Bluebeard’s Castle, performed in a concert version under Yannick Nézet-Séguin with Michèle Losier and John Relyea, the orchestra re-creates this voyage deep into Bluebeard’s psyche. Also on the program are Barber’s poignant Adagio for Strings and Bartók’s Violin Concerto No. 1, performed by soloist in residence Kerson Leong.

BARBER: Adagio for Strings
BARTÓK: Violin Concerto No. 1
BARTÓK: Bluebeard’s Castle

Preconcert talks
Mario F. Paquet invites the public to discover the works on the program during a free 30-minute bilingual chat with the concert players.

Young Music Lovers Preludes
A musical performance by young musicians takes place in the Foyer Allegro 30 minutes before the beginning of each concert presented at the Maison symphonique de Montréal.


  • Producer / Presenter : Orchestre Métropolitain
  • Venue : Maison symphonique
  • Conductor : Yannick Nézet-Séguin
  • Violin – soloist in residence : Kerson Leong
  • Mezzo-soprano : Michèle Losier
  • Bass : John Relyea
Orchestre Métropolitain - Subscribe to the 18/19 Season

Rates and schedule

Share your opinion

Go to top