Migrations - NYO Canada

Maison symphonique August 1, 2018

This event has ended

See upcoming Classical events

NYO Canada returns to Montréal as a part of their Migrations 2018 TD Tour. Led by Maestro Jonathan Darlington, the 95-musician Orchestra will perform works by composers such as Gershwin, Strauss, and Copland at this special, free concert.

The 2018 Michael Measures Prize Winner Martin Mangrum (Horn) will be the featured soloist at this concert, performing Strauss’ Horn Concerto No. 2. Only 21 years of age, he was the recipient of NYO Canada’s Canada 150 Commemorative Award in 2017 and previously won the Ottawa Symphony’s inaugural Senécal Mozart Prize. Since 2011, the Michael Measures Prize has awarded in partnership with the Canada Council for the Arts to an NYO Canada student who is an “outstanding, young Canadian musician who plays an orchestral instrument” between the ages of 16 and 22.

Gershwin - Catfish Row
Strauss - Horn Concerto No. 2
Copland - Appalachian Spring
Scriabin - Poem of Ecstasy (Symphony No. 4) Op. 54


Go to top