Brahms’ Tragic Symphony no. 4

Maison symphonique April 1 and 2, 2020

This event has ended

See upcoming Classical events

In accordance with government directives, Place des Arts has suspended its activities until further. These measures have been put into effect due to circumstances relating to the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic. Consequently, the Brahms’ Tragic Symphony no. 4 concert scheduled on March 1 and 2 has been cancelled. Ticket holders will be reimbursed directly.

Violinist Augustin Hadelich brings his superb musicality and dazzling technique back to Montreal to the delight of music-lovers. His performance of Britten's Violin Concerto no. 1 is preceded by Mendelssohn’s The Hebrides Overture and followed by Brahms’ Fourth Symphony, the composer’s last and a masterpiece of the orchestral repertoire. On the podium for this concert is the highly renowned American conductor David Zinman.

Mendelssohn, The Hebrides, Overture, op. 26
Britten, Violin Concerto, op. 15
Brahms, Serenade no. 1 in D major, op. 11


Go to top