'Tis the Season with Kent Nagano

Maison symphonique December 10, 2024

That emblem of the holidays, Tchaikovsky’s The Nutcracker, delights all ages with its air of magic and its sparkling sounds. The rich, warm voice of Marie-Nicole Lemieux as she performs the world premiere of a work by Canadian composer Matthew Ricketts also lights up the concert. And yet another gift, Vivaldi’s beloved Four Seasons, will be played in a completely new orchestration!

Pyotr Ilyich TCHAIKOVSKY, The Nutcracker, excerpts (24 min.)
Matthew RICKETTS, Christmas Symphony, for contralto and orchestra – OSM commission (20 min.)
Antonio VIVALDI, The Four Seasons, for oboe, trumpet, cello, percussion and orchestra, North American premiere (arr. A. Sadikova, 37 min.)


  • Venue : Maison symphonique
  • Producer / Presenter : Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM)
  • OSM conductor emeritus : Kent Nagano
  • Artists : Marie-Nicole Lemieux (contralto),
Vincent Boilard (oboe), Paul Merkelo (trumpet), Anna Burden (cello), Serge Desgagnés (percussion)
  • Presented by : Power Corporation du Canada

Rates and schedule

Go to top