Stravinsky and Ravel on the Organ

Maison symphonique May 25, 2024

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring and Ravel’s Bolero are two signature works of the OSM’s repertoire. But have you ever heard them played on the organ? Four acclaimed organists invite you to discover these masterpieces in truly remarkable versions for the “King of instruments”. The Grand Orgue Pierre-Béique will take on orchestral dimensions for this concert that reinvents two well-known summits of classical music, made possible by the organ’s powerful, contrasting timbres. Come and experience an extraordinary moment!

Alexandre GUILMANT, Organ Sonata no. 1 in D minor: III. Final (7 min.)
VIERNE, Organ Symphony no. 3 in F-sharp minor, op. 28: IV. Adagio (8 min.)
Marcel DUPRÉ, Prelude and Fugue in G minor, op. 7, no. 3 (7 min.)
Pierre COCHEREAU, Boléro on a Theme by Charles Racquet (13 min.)
STRAVINSKY, The Rite of Spring, for piano four-hands (arr. Stravinsky, 35 min.)
RAVEL, Bolero, for four organists and snare drum (arr. Burge, 12 min.)


  • Venue : Maison symphonique
  • Producer / Presenter : Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM)
  • Post-concert talk : a concert talk will take place after the concert at 3:30 pm. All ticket holders are welcome! (duration: 30 minutes)
  • Artists : Olivier Latry (OSM organist emeritus), Shin-Young Lee (organ)
  • With participating artists : Isabelle Demers, Jean-Willy Kunz

Rates and schedule

Go to top