Spartacus in Montréal

Maison symphonique November 19, 2023

This event has ended

These events may also be of interest to you

Enjoy the captivating and powerful music of Armenian composer Aram Khachaturian, whose 120th anniversary is celebrated this year world-wide.

Hear the most memorable fragments from the famous Spartacus ballet followed by Violin Concerto in D minor, one of the best violin concertos of the 20th century. Composed in 1940 for the legendary David Oistrakh it remains in the repertoire of the world’s outstanding violinists. The manuscript of the Spartacus Ballet suites was included in the UNESCO World Documentary Heritage Register in 2014 for its significance and outstanding universal value. The soloist of Violin Concerto in D minor is a brilliant violinist Sergey Khachatryan, who is one of the most acclaimed violinists of his generation and winner of the Sibelius Competition and the Queen Elisabeth Competition (Brussels).

The second part of the concert is dedicated to the 150th anniversary of iconic Sergei Rachmaninoff who in his lifetime was considered Europe’s greatest piano prodigy since Franz List. The Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra performs the dramatically expressive Symphony No. 2 in E minor, Op. 27 led by conductor and Artistic Director Eduard Topchjan, a distinguished Armenian musician.



Go to top