Rafael Payare Conducts Shostakovich, Ravel and Liszt

Maison symphonique October 12, 2022

This event has ended

These events may also be of interest to you

Franz Liszt’s symphonic poem Les préludes is loosely based on a méditation on life and death by French poet Alphonse de Lamartine. It is a theme that courses through the works of Shostakovich, whose Tenth Symphony was premiered a few months after the death of Stalin. This program will also be an opportunity to enjoy Ravel as rendered by Icelandic pianist Víkingur Ólafsson, who will be making his Maison symphonique debut.

Liszt, Les préludes, S. 97 (16 min.)
Ravel, Piano Concerto in G major (23 min.)
Shostakovich, Symphony no. 10 in E minor, op. 93 (57 min.)


Go to top