Payare Conducts Mozart’s Moving Requiem

Maison symphonique April 16 and 17, 2025

The dramatic intensity and emotional candour expressed in Mozart’s Requiem contribute to the fascination this work continues to arouse more than 200 years after it was written. Bach similarly approaches the theme of death through an aura of contemplative humanism in the motet Jesu, meine Freude, in which a serene vision of the afterlife is offered. The genius of both Bach and Mozart will be celebrated by the Orchestra and the OSM Chorus.

Johann Sebastian BACH, Prelude and Fugue in B minor, BWV 544 (12 min.)
Johann Sebastian BACH, Jesu, meine Freude, Motet, BWV 227 (21 min.)
Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART, Requiem in D minor, K. 626 (48 min.)


  • Venue : Maison symphonique
  • Producer / Presenter : Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM)
  • Mozart Festival : Rafael Payare (conductor - Mozart), Myriam Leblanc (soprano), Julie Boulianne (mezzo-soprano), Joé Lampron-Dandonneau (tenor), Robert Gleadow (bass), Jean-Willy Kunz (OSM organist-in-residence), OSM Chorus, Andrew Megill (chorus master)

Rates and schedule

Go to top