Passion Unleashed: Tchaikovsky and Sibelius

Maison symphonique December 8 and 11, 2021

This event has ended

See upcoming Classical events

Maestro Rafael Payare and the OSM steer the course through a romantic storm of lyricism and passion. Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto no. 1 is a technically brilliant work of supercharged vitality with folk dance overtones, featuring Israeli-American pianist Inon Barnatan as soloist. Sibelius completed his Symphony no. 1 in 1899, commandeering an idiom inherited from Romanticism while personally branding it with abrupt changes and magical atmospheres.

Piano Concerto no. 1 in B-flat minor, op. 23

Symphony no. 1 in E minor, op. 39


Mask is no longer mandatory. The choice to wear it remains at the discretion of each person.
Go to top