Osmo Vänskä and Beethoven’s Symphony no. 5

Maison symphonique September 28 and 29, 2022

This event has ended

These events may also be of interest to you

This program celebrates Beethoven with two works that demonstrate his forward-looking artistic vision: the Fourth Piano Concerto and the towering Symphony no. 5, with its universally familiar opening motif. South Korean composer Unsuk Chin drew inspiration from Beethoven’s extreme and dramatic contrasts in her piece Subito con forza, while a serene glow envelops Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho’s Ciel d’hiver.

Unsuk Chin, Subito con forza (5 min.)
Beethoven, Piano Concerto no. 4 in G major, op. 58 (34 min.)
Kaija Saariaho, Ciel d'hiver (11 min.)
Beethoven, Symphony no. 5 in C minor, op. 67 (31 min.)


Go to top