Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider in Performance and Conducting the OSM

Maison symphonique January 19, 2023

This event has ended

See upcoming Classical events

This warm, lyrical concert showcases several soloists from the OSM alongside conductor Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider, who swaps his baton for a violin bow in his performance of the string sextet from Richard Strauss’ Capriccio. Back on the podium, he then conducts Armenian composer Alexander Arutiunian’s Trumpet Concerto, as well as Austrian composer Zemlinsky’s The Mermaid, a multi-episode fantasy for orchestra colourfully depicting the heroine’s vain quest for love. 

R. Strauss, Capriccio, TrV 279: “Prelude for String Sextet” (12 min.)
Alexander Arutiunian, Trumpet Concerto (16 min.)
Zemlinsky, Die Seejungfrau [The Mermaid] (40 min.)


  • Venue : Maison symphonique
  • Producer / Presenter : Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM)
  • Artists : Andrey Boreyko (conductor and violin) - Replacing Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider, Paul Merkelo (trumpet), Andrew Wan (violin), Victor Fournelle-Blain (viola), Charles Pilon (viola), Anna Burden (cello), Brian Manker (cello)
Go to top