Beethoven's Poetic Fourth Piano Concerto

Maison symphonique April 24 and 25, 2024

This event has ended

See upcoming Classical events

Renowned for her exquisite artistry and refined technique, pianist Maria João Pires is back with the OSM to perform Beethoven’s Concerto no. 4, that decidedly singular masterpiece of the piano repertoire. This program also celebrates the 150th anniversary of Schoenberg’s birth with two of the composer’s post-Romantic works: the eminently lyrical tone poem Transfigured Night, and Pelleas und Melisande, with its impressive aural density amplified by powerful dramatic tension.

SCHOENBERG, Verklärte Nacht [Transfigured Night], op. 4
BEETHOVEN, Piano Concerto no. 4 in G major, op. 58
SCHOENBERG, Pelleas und Melisande, symphonic poem, op. 5 (41 min.)


Go to top