Coronavirus (Covid-19)

Since October 8, Place des Arts will be able to welcome spectators into its performance halls at maximum capacity, in compliance with Public Health guidelines. See details


Kent Nagano and Mahler’s Fifth Symphony

Maison symphonique From September 19 To 21, 2019

This event has ended

See upcoming Classical events

Kent Nagano conducts Mahler’s Symphony no. 5, whose poignant opening funeral march’s rhythmic contours are a nod to Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony. To complete the programme: Ravel's Introduction et Allegro, originally commissioned to showcase the sound capabilities of the harp, turns the spotlight on some of the OSM's Principal Chairs. 

Ravel, Introduction et Allegro
Mahler, Symphony no. 5 in C-sharp minor


  • Producer / Presenter : Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM)
  • Venue : Maison symphonique
  • Conductor : Kent Nagano
  • Ravel : Jennifer Swartz, harp / Andrew Wan, violin / Olivier Thouin, violin / Victor de Almeida, viola / Brian Manker, cello / Albert Brouwer, flute / Todd Cope, clarinet
  • Duration (subject to change without notice) : 1h30, without intermission
Go to top