Gershwin’s Piano Concerto

Maison symphonique February 28 and 1, 2023

A whole play of musical influences and legacies links the works on this program of music from both sides of the Atlantic. While Petrushka and Daphnis et Chloé were composed for Sergei Diaghilev’s Ballets Russes, Gershwin’s Concerto in F, which premiered in 1925, resonates with Slavic flair, immersing us in the ambiance of 1920s America, with accents of blues and Charleston. Music students from higher learning institutions will join the Orchestra’s musicians in Stravinsky’s Petrushka.

Éric Champagne, Vers les astres (10 min.)
Stravinsky, Petrushka (35 min., version to be confirmed)
Gershwin, Piano Concerto in F major (31 min.)
Ravel, Daphnis et Chloé, Suite no. 2 (18 min.)


Rates and schedule

Go to top