Charles Richard-Hamelin Performs Prokofiev’s Concerto no. 2

Maison symphonique From May 10 To 13, 2023

Pianist Charles Richard-Hamelin returns to the OSM to perform Prokofiev’s Concerto no. 2, a work of spectacular bravura that caused a scandal when it was premiered in 1913. Under the baton of Finnish conductor John Storgårds, the Orchestra sets off on epic adventures, from the depiction of Charon’s rowboat in Rachmaninoff’s Isle of the Dead, to Sibelius’ tone poem En saga, the inspiration for the Finnish composer Lotta Wennäkoski’s Verdigris.

Lotta Wennäkoski, Verdigris (12 min.)
Rachmaninoff, Isle of the Dead, Tone poem, op. 29 (21 min.)*
Prokofiev, Piano Concerto no. 2 in G minor, op. 16 (31 min.)
Sibelius, En saga, op. 9, Tone poem (20 min.)
*Concerts on May 10 and 13 only


Rates and schedule

  • May 2023
    Wednesday, May 10, 2023
    from $40.24 to $163.27
    Thursday, May 11, 2023
    from $51.74 to $101.18
    Saturday, May 13, 2023
    from $40.24 to $163.27
Go to top