Coronavirus (Covid-19)

New shows go on sale and are presented in our performance halls every week, in compliance with public health requirements. As of September 1st, 2021, all spectators aged 13 or over will be required to show a vaccine passport, along with a photo ID (photo optional for people aged 13 to 15, and 75 or over), to be admitted to shows presented at Place des Arts. See the latest updates


Romantic masterpieces with the OSM and Kent Nagano

Amphithéâtre Fernand-Lindsay August 4, 2017

This event has ended

See upcoming Classical events

Tchaikovsky himself revised his Piano Concerto No. 1 several times. The great pianist Arthur Rubinstein played it on many an occasion in the course of his long and distinguished career, contributing to its success. Now we hear this masterpiece performed by the talented young Russian pianist Yulianna Avdeeva, Grand Prize winner at the 2010 Chopin Competition.

The Orchestre symphonique de Montréal and conductor Kent Nagano conclude the concert with Brahms’s Second Symphony, composed in the Austrian Alps where the composer also drew inspiration for his Violin Concerto. This four-movement work is often compared to Beethoven’s Sixth Symphony for its pastoral quality

Kent NAGANO, conductor

Yulianna AVDEEVA, piano

Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23

Johannes BRAHMS
Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73


Go to top