Maxim Vengerov Plays Shostakovich

Maison symphonique January 18 and 19, 2023

Illustrious violinist Maxim Vengerov will perform Shostakovich’s First Concerto under the baton of Israeli-Danish conductor Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider. Composed in the aftermath of the Second World War, this Concerto progresses through irony, tragedy and festive atmospheres—all key ingredients in Shostakovich’s music. Meanwhile, Austrian composer Zemlinsky’s orchestral fantasy The Mermaid, loosely based on Andersen’s tale, depicts in colourful episodes this heroine’s vain quest for love. 

Shostakovich, Violin Concerto no. 1 in A minor, op. 77 (39 min.)
Zemlinsky, Die Seejungfrau [The  Mermaid] (40 min.)


Rates and schedule

Go to top